About The School

The School of Life Sciences had a humble beginning after the establishment of Swami Ramanand Teerth Marathwada University at Nanded in 1994. The university was established as per the resolution by the State Government of Maharashtra and recommended and recognized by the University Grants Commission (UGC) under 2(f) & 12 (B). The effort of the University was appreciated in implementing the various programs and was accredited as ‘Á’ Grade by the NAAC, Bengaluru.

The idea of teaching biology as an integrated discipline was conceived on the campus of this university. The School of Life Sciences has five major ongoing programs: M.Sc in Basic Sciences (Microbiology, Botany, and Zoology), M.Sc Biotechnology & M.Sc Five Year Integrated Biotechnology. The School of Life Sciences has made remarkable progress within a short period and has an impressive track record in research by the faculty members. The UGC and DST, New Delhi has recognised the School of Life Sciences for continuous support through several levels of assistance such as UGC-BSR (SAP & Non-SAP), DST-FIST (DRS-1) for major infrastructure & RUSA for promoting research activities in Life Sciences. The School also has received funding from external agencies like USAID, DBT, BIRAC, and ICAR etc to undertake research activities, training activities to encourage students and faculty members in cutting edge technologies, collaborative and translational research with National & International organizations etc.  


Copyright © 2020 srtmun.ac.in. All Rights Reserved.